Dedication and Willpower.

“You can do anything you want to do in life”. That’s a line that we often hear through life.

While I do believe you can achieve and be successful in something you truly to love in life(professionally or personally) it feels like my heart breaks every time I hear that line.

It will sound harsh and it is only my personal opinion so take it with a grain of salt. It’s not a fact and it’s not the best way of going through life but it’s a way of dealing with it all.

There are so many factors to why not doing anything we want in life is possible. It can be because financial issues, education, living situation, physical and psychological reasons and the list goes on.

What we can do is to never give up on trying and have in mind that some things will take time and that you might have to take a different route than the one you wanted and go forward from there.

I’ve had dreams crushed more than once myself. I wanted to be a veterinarian as a child but once I realized what it required and that my own abilities were restricted I had to accept that I couldn’t do that to myself.

For a short while as a kid I also wanted to be a designer and a song writer.

I never liked school much. It didn’t get better over time and I dropped out of college. If you listen to what people say you will eventually believe that’s what you want.

I now know that I will never be able to work as a professional photographer but I still take pictures as a hobby and I still write.

I learned by experience that I personally need a job where I can walk around. I can’t sit in an office with a 9 to 5 job. The pay must, of course, allow me to live and survive, I need to have a work environment that makes me want to give the little extra and co-workers that make me smile and laugh.

I always seem to give up before I even start because I make myself believe that the result won’t be good enough. I need to dedicate time to improve for my own sake and the willpower to keep going even when others tell you not to.

Do what makes you happy and don’t lose hope if the finish line requires you to take a different route than the one you first chose. There’s never just one road. There are many.

Who knows what will happen once you reach your finish line?

What I do know is that you will have a lot more experience, knowledge and skills and it will make a difference.

~Kester.

Leave a Reply

