Work Smart & Hard.

“Work smart, not hard” is easy to say but often not easy to do in practice.

How I personally interpret it depends on the job.

Some jobs requires you do work hard. There’s deadlines, there are heavy lifts, there’s physical and psychological challenges. The list can go on forever.

I only have a basic education since I dropped out of college. I chose to study something that I couldn’t connect with. It was too theoretical. The jobs I could get after graduating would mostly mean desk jobs. I lost interest fast because I had no motivation. I chose a high student loan instead of graduation. I don’t regret dropping out but I regret don’t studying something I knew I wanted to study but I gave in to pressure because what I was told and I quote “not something I could make a living out of”.

I wanted to study to become a photographer or a designer. Yes, it’s a though marked and making a living off it where I live is not easy unless you’re good at promoting yourself, have a lot of skills and a great network. I lack all of those.

My job requires me to work under pressure and often means heavy lifting at times. Of course, those heavy lifts are nothing compared to other jobs. My body just struggle to handle the ones that my job requires me to do but I still do my best. If my body is in pain I need to find another technique that will cause no pain or less pain.

When I dropped out of college I decided to prove that you can start at the bottom and work yourself up with only dedication, willpower and a hard work.

I’d like to point out that I don’t want to work myself to a desk job. A higher hourly pay rate, yes, but money is not everything. I want to be able to live without always worrying about having enough for bills and food and extra expenses such as doctor or dentist appointment. I want to live comfortable but I don’t want to earn more money than I need.

I always give my best at work and I try to do the little extra to prove that it wasn’t a mistake to have me as an employer. I told the truth already under the job interview. I have a bad back, I go to physical therapy once a week to be able to stay in work and I’m used to stress and I can handle it most of the time. It’s better to be honest than to keep it a secret even though you might be considered a burden and a risk for ending up on a sick leave. If you’re open about such things and show dedication for the job there should be ways of adapt certain job tasks.

I’ve had my current job for around a year now and I’ve already been given a pay raise because I’m always willing to accept almost every shift I get asked about and because I’m willing to stay at work longer if needed.  I’ve also been told repeatedly that hiring me was a good decision and that I’m a one of the most valuable employees at work by my boss.

Education is not everything but it will often help you get a job faster and earn more.

Without an education getting a job might be harder, the pay might be lower and the hours worse.

Good co-workers, a healthy work environment and a job I like in general makes work easier, time goes faster and staying positive don’t feel forced to make it through the day.

If you want something enough you need to work for it and never give up.

It might take a lot of time and the result might be different from what you expected but you’ll get there one way or another.

Work smart and hard. Stay positive and ask for help if the road becomes unclear.

Don’t work yourself sick.

~ Kester

Leave a Reply

